Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

NTU EEE undergraduates won 1st prize and overall champions at Sembcorp-EMA Energy Challenge 2016

School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) undergraduates from NTU won the 1st Prize under the Higher Education Institute Category as well as the overall award champions for all categories in the annual SembCorp-EMA energy challenge, held on 3 June 2016. 

The Sembcorp-EMA Energy Challenge (SEEC) was part of a larger convention, Energy Innovation 2016. This convention is the second time, co-organised by the Energy Market Authority, National Climate Change Secretariat and National Research Foundation. The goal is to encourage collaborations among industry players, researchers and government bodies to grow local capabilities to meet Singapore’s energy and low carbon objectives. The SEEC was to introduce this concept to the younger generation. Students from various education levels came to compete and test their mettle.

In the first phase of the programme, EEE students were invited to attend a Sembcorp one-day tour to understand and learn about their power plant at Pulau Ubin and Jurong Island to get an on-site experience on how their clean and green, newly-invented COGEN generator operates.

Then they were given a real life simulation of building and managing a reliable and profitable power plant while ensuring environmental sustainability. The teams were judged based on three criteria; Profitability, Environmental and Reliability. The organisation created their own software simulation and they were required to achieve the maximum amount of score for the 3 criteria in 90 minutes. 

The competition consisted of 96 participants in 24 teams, ranging from ITE, Polytechnic and University and during the competition, the team fought hard to attain not only the 1st prize in the higher education category but also the overall champion among the various education categories. Also, the students will be given internship opportunities by Sembcorp.

It was a rare opportunity for the EEE students to be able to attend the Energy Innovation 2016 organised by EMA together. The event gave them an insight to see the evolution of power and energy of the past and for the incoming generation. They were exposed to a bigger stage where all the important guests gathered and they were able to grab this chance to interact with most of them. This will definitely help them in their careers by building a wider and stronger network or connections.
Team Members  
Lim Zhi Wei (Leader)​​ Year 3 EEE student
Dylan Tan Year 3 EEE student
Tan Yong Chin Year 3 EEE student
Norvin Setiawan Year 3 EEE student



Team: Norvin Setiawan, Dylan Tan, Mr Chong Choon Lin (Senior Vice President of SembCorp), Lim Zhi Wei and Tan Yong Chin (left to right)


Not sure which programme to go for? Use our programme finder
Loading header/footer ...